It’s Called Grace

7 08 2010

Hello, Friends!

Yesterday, all my troubles did NOT seem so far away, and it honestly felt as though they were here to stay. It ended up being one of those days where I felt sorta cranky, had no appetite, and didn’t really want to go to work. Oh, and I felt like I weighed 200 pounds. My jeans were uncomfortable. I wanted to put on yoga pants and hunker down to work on my cook book collage. Or maybe go for a kick-butt bike ride. But, as I’m sure you’re able to guess, none of those lovely ideas were options. So, I put on a different pair of jeans, and ignored the calls of my cook book collage and bike, and headed out the door to go to work.

My mood improved, although I still wished I didn’t have to be at work. Literally the moment I logged on to my computer, the phones started ringing and people started pouring in the office, so I didn’t have time to think about my woes. The rush of people calmed down, and I grabbed the key to the big ice freezer so I could restock the store’s freezer. And it hit me. I still felt mildly cranky. My appetite? Who knows where it went. But I didn’t feel like I weighed 200 pounds any more. And then it hit me again. Grace. The only explanation for why I felt the way I did, why I felt better, is Grace. Not a hormonal shift, not getting my mind off my woes, not pure distraction. Nope, Grace.

See, God knew exactly what I needed yesterday.

“This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.”
1 John 3:19-20

My heart was in a state of confusion. It knew that I didn’t weigh 200 pounds. It knew I wasn’t huge. But because of all the chaos inside that voice of reason, of rational thought, couldn’t break through. *trumpet bugle* INTERVENTION! Of the divine sort 🙂

You all know how I think in song lyrics, right? Well, here’s a phrase from a song that just came to mind:

“I called, you answered, and you came to my rescue…”

It’s so true. My Prince of Peace came riding up on his beautiful white horse, doused me in grace, and rescued me from despair! Cliche? Maybe. True? Yes!!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 08 2010
De'Dee Brown

Isn’t HE so good to come and rescue us from our pits.

7 08 2010
mybadfriended

Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

